Colorado Window Tint Limits
The side windows (on either side of the driver) must allow at least 27% light transmission. Must allow more than 27% of light in.
This is the percent of visible light that gets through either the film (film vlt%) or window plus film net vlt%.
Colorado window tint limits. In colorado, you can tint your entire windshield, but it must allow 70% or more light transmittance. In fact, washington law specifies exactly how dark a window can be tinted. Auto window tinting stops solar rays from entering your car via your windows which helps keep it cooler.
Must allow more than 27% of light in. For example, your window has an existing vlt of 80% and you’d like to make it darker by installing a window tint film with 50% vlt. Any good, reputable window tinting shop should be able to tell you what percentage tint you have on the back window.
By colorado law, no red tint color is permitted, mirrors are required if back windows are tinted, and no sticker is required to identify legal tinting. This means you’ll end up with a 40% vlt tint after installing your film. California, colorado, maine, and michigan allow for a 4 shade band.
(1) (a) (i) except as otherwise provided in this paragraph (a), no person shall operate a motor vehicle registered in colorado on which any window, except the windshield, is composed of, covered by, or treated with any material or component that presents an opaque, nontransparent, or metallic or mirrored. Colorado measures window tint in terms of vlt percentage, or visible light transmission percentage. Just ask the shop what the darkest, legal tint is and go with that.
All tinting from a vehicle’s manufacturer is legal in colorado, but certain types of aftermarket tint are illegal. Up to 27% tint darkness allowed. Other colorado window tint law rules and regulations besides the basic laws put forward by the state of colorado for its people, there are various other rules and regulations to pay attention to so make sure you take a good look at these rules below.
Up to 27% tint darkness allowed. The lower the vlt%, the darker the tint. The main window tint law in colorado has to do with tint darkness.
We have provided all the necessary information about your car's window tint, including how dark or reflective the tint is allowed in your state. I chose to go with 35% as its within the legal limits of my. Colorado window tint laws in detail.
However, there are limits to how much tint may be applied to a car window and these limits are established to ensure safety for you, your passengers and the community you live in. Hawaii, north dakota, and ohio allow for a tint of up to 70% on the windshield. Other colorado window tinting laws and regulations.
Visible light transmission is the measurement used to assess automotive window tints. #6 · feb 11, 2020. The common allowable limits are 50 percent for the driver's front and passenger's front window, and 35 percent for the rear passenger or side windows and the back window.
Vlt is the amount of light the window tint film lets through. Just drive your ssr by and ask them. That said, bruce is right.
There are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in colorado so make sure you read all about it below. Depending on your state, placing 20% window tint on the driver and passenger side windows may violate your state laws. Window tint darkness is regulated.
The lower the vlt%, the darker the tint. Visible light transmission is the measurement used to assess automotive window tints. These are the terms you need to know in order to interpret the various state laws and limits.
There are legal limits in most states. Car window tinting laws in colorado were enacted in 1995. The windshield must have a 70% rating or higher, but this tint can only cover the top 4.
In colorado, this percentage refers to percentage of visible light allowed in through the combination of film and the window. The calculation to get the combined vlt percentage is: Must allow more than 27% of light in.
80% x 50% = 40% vlt. Where i live, businesses are not allowed to use 20% for the front windows and are required to issue a sticker of compliance (unless the law has changed) certifying the tint is within the limits of the law. This is the percent of visible light that gets through either the film (film vlt%) or window plus film net vlt%.
It’s best you calculate accordingly even before purchasing. Below is an outline of most of the colorado tinting laws that likely apply to you. These are the terms you need to know in order to interpret the various state laws and limits.
D.c., nebraska, new mexico, texas, and wyoming allow a 5 shade band or a tint that reaches the as1 marking. Cool off your car with professional window tinting from a advance auto. The back side windows must allow 27% as well, and the rear windshield must allow 70%, just like the front windshield.
Up to 27% tint darkness allowed. The two on the right, at 5 percent and 20 percent, would be ok.